Australia Day Council of NSW

The Australia Day Council of NSW is the body appointed by the Premier to lead the continued development of Australia Day celebrations throughout the State. The Department of Premier and Cabinet provide the secretariat from which the Council operates.

As the leading facilitator of Australia Day celebrations since 1981, the Australia Day Council of NSW stages the largest and most recognised program of any other State or Territory.

Corporate Club Australia is instrumental in extending the emotion and pride of Australia Day beyond a single day. Members who successfully integrate the core values of Australia Day into their broader sponsorship, marketing and engagement strategies feel the benefits throughout the year.


Andrew Parker 
Chief Sustainability Officer - Qantas Airways Limited

Deputy Chair

Yvonne Weldon 
Deputy Chair, Metropolitan Local Aboriginal Land Council

Board Members

Melissa Abu-Gazaleh, Founder and CEO, Top Blokes Foundation

Greg Daniel AM, National Practice Leader for KPMG SR7

Dr G.K Harinath OAMChairperson, Multicultural NSW

Faye McMillan AM, Associate Professor, Charles Sturt University


  View Council Bios


The role of this Council, as volunteers and professionals from across the state and with diverse backgrounds, is to help create an Australia Day that respects, reflects and celebrates this extraordinary country.

Andrew Parker, Chair, Australia Day Council of NSW